What’s a Special District?

California has approximately 3400 Special Districts. Each one, including DHCD, is a government entity, distinct from city, county and state government, directed by its own Board, providing specific focused services and facilities to residents within defined boundaries.

Healthcare Districts are public entities that provide community-based health care services to residents throughout the state. They respond to the needs in their District by providing a range of services, which may include a hospital, clinic, skilled nursing facility or emergency medical services; as well as education and wellness programs. Each of California's Healthcare Districts is governed by a locally elected Board of Trustees who are directly accountable to the comunities they serve.

For more information about Special Districts, click here:

California Special Districts Association (CSDA)

Association of California Healthcare Districts (ACHD) 

What’s New

Ready Set Swim, Jr.


To register for Ready Set Swim, Jr., click on the following link below for more information:

Para registrarse a Ready, Set, Swim Jr., haga click en el enlace para mas informacion:  

Ready Set Swim, Jr. Registration/Registracion



Get connected to health and wellness resources in the Coachella Valley at CVHIP.com

Desert Healthcare District Eastern Coachella Valley Annexation Application

Desert Healthcare District Eastern Coachella Valley Annexation Application 

Click Here to view the application (pdf)